Cavalera Conspiracy – Psychosis


Time flies really fast. Sometimes it’s hard to realize it. Let me give you an example. Derrick Green has been the singer of Sepultura for more years than Max Cavalera. I don’t know about you but that thought made me feel old.

The Cavalera Brothers of course do not need any introduction. They’ve been in the game for many years now and they have produced some classic albums. In 2007 they formed Cavalera Conspiracy. ”Psychosis” is the band’s fourth album. It was released on the 17th of November through Napalm Records.

Produced by Arthur Rizk, ”Psychosis” Lp includes nine tracks. In my opinion the Cavalera Conspiracy albums, plus the post ”Conquer” Soulfly albums mark what i would call ”a return to the roots”. ”Psychosis” is really heavy and fast as well but it includes considerable amounts of groove. In my opinion it is the outcome of a long procedure. It is an album that will make you travel back in time, when Sepultura released ”Beneath the Remains”. Nevertheless this album draws  inspiration also from Nailbomb and albums like ”Chaos A.D” for example. ”Hellfire” was a surprise for me. I think that Justin Broadrick killed it. I think thought most tracks of this album kill. I’m talking about tracks like ”Insane”, ”Terror Tactics”, ”Crom” and of course ”Hellfire”. Is this the best Cavalera Conspiracy album so far? I think it is.

In ”Psychosis” the Cavalera Bros accomplish something important. They do not sound like the bands they influenced. ”Psychosis” is a 30 year old course distilled into an album. It is a really good album therefore it is highly recommended. Here’s a link where you can listen to ”Psychosis”:


Chronoboros – No Dirt Or Silver Will Have Us Sated


Chronoboros is a three piece band from Athens, Greece. The band came into existence back in 2014. They released their first ep ”Dialing Up The Cutter” in 2015. Their first full length album ”No Dirt Or Silver Will Have Us Sated” was released on the 29th of November. Produced by Giotis Paraskevaidis and Chronoboros and mastered by Nasos Nomikos at Vu Productions, this album includes ten tracks.

In my opinion their first ep had quite an impact on the scene. I personally felt that this band has enormous potentials. ”Dialing Up the Cutter” had enthused me so i was longing for a full length. Well, the time has come. The band dropped the album. So, let’s check it out.

The band’s music is a more than exciting jazzy blend of mathcore, sludge and noisecore. I’m not entirely sure about the accuracy of my previous description. Sometimes when you can’t easily put it in words you know you have found something special. I think that’s the case with ”No Dirt Or Silver Will Have Us Sated”.

It starts with ”Backflow of eternal darkness” and yes, these guys are back at it again. This is a really nice intro for this album. ”Coaxed Out of Cave” is an awesome track and that’s hands down. ”It moves, it pricks” being quite technical and jazzy, but heavy as hell, is another dope track as well. Same goes for ”One Last Caveat”. I think Virus fans are gonna really like ”Rising Streetcar”. I personally loved it. Be sure to check out ”Diadem”. It’s a great track. ”If a sword is always sheated” is one of this album’s highlights and another favourite track of mine. ”Wooden it would seem” doesn’t deviate at all from the tone that was set in the beginning. It’s a massive, heavy track. But wait because there’s more. I’m talikng about ”Split the mainbrace” and ”Bellower”. ”Split the mainbrace” has recently become a part of my playlist and i think it will remain there for a lot of time. Just before i conclude this review let me remind you that this is an album that needs to be played loud.

”No Dirt Or Silver Will Have Us Sated” is a dope album. There’s no doubt in my mind that the band delivered. It’s super heavy as it is experimental. It’s a solid album by Chronoboros that you need to listen to. Specially recommended for fans of Botch, The Dillinger Escape Plan, Canvas, Coalesce, Harlots, e.t.c. Here’s a link where you can have a first taste.


Arcadian Child – Afterglow


Arcadian Child is an alternative rock band formed in Limassol, Cyprus, in 2013. On the 29th of October, the band released their debut, full length album ”Afterglow”. Recorded by Andreas Trachonitis and Mikaela Tsangari at studio eleven63 in Nicosia, Cyprus and mastered by Yiannis Chrisotdoulatos at Sweetspot Productions in Athens, Greece, this album includes eight tracks.

Well, let’s waste no more time and press play. Let’s see what we’ve got here. It starts with ”She’s on my mind”, a nice song with a smooth bassline. ”Little Late for Love” is an o.k song for me. Neither hated it nor loved it. I can’t say the same about ”Rabbit Hole”. I really liked this one. ”Electric Red” is considerably groovy and closer to heavy space rock and i’d like to urge all of you to give it a listen. Halfway through we find another cool song. I’m talking about ”Irresistible”. In my opinion this is one of this album’s best tracks. I’m down with songs like ”Afterglow” as well. Last but not least we find ”Used”. This song gave me a kind of bittersweet taste but it’s a dope song nonetheless.

Listening to this album i felt a bit of 90’s nostalgia but overall i think the band delivered. ”Afterglow” is a really good alternative rock album with big doses of psychedelic and garage rock. I personally enjoyed it thus i’d like to recommend it. Here’s a link where you can also listen to ”Afterglow”.

Dawn Ray’d – The Unlawful Assembly


Lately a lot of people have been talking about this album and this band. So out of plain curiosity i decided to check it out. The band is called Dawn Ray’d, a three piece band from the U.K. Their new full length album ”The Unlawful Assembly” was released about a month ago. Well, it’s too damn good so i thought we should say some words about it. Ten tracks are included in this release. Dawn Ray’d play black metal but their music cauldron also includes elements such as neo-crust and folk. ‘The Unlawful Assembly’ starts quite emphatically with two killer tracks, namely ”Fire Sermon” and ”The Abyssal Plane”. They simply launched an attack on both flanks with these stone cold riffs of theirs. Quite overwhelmed by this i simply watched the attack unfolding. ”Future Perfect Conditional” is another awesome track with a great intro. Same goes for ”Emptiness Beneath” and all i can think of is that this is black metal today. Great atmosphere, awesome vocals, riffs cold as hell and the tempo quickens and then slows down when it has to. ”A Litany to Cowards” is a great acoustic track. It’s what will lead you to the second part of this album. Expect nothing but awesomeness here as well. I mean, check out ”Island of Cannibal Horses”. This is a beautiful track and that’s hands down. Talking about this album as a whole, i couldn’t really find a mediocre moment here. In my opinion ”The Unlawful Assembly” by Dawn Ray’d is one solid album. As for me, i loved it, i enjoyed it and i simply wish to recommend it. Here’s a link where you can also listen to ”The Unlawful Assembly”.