Omega Monolith – Fungus

a1723947431_10
I remember the first time I saw Omega Monolith play live here in Athens. It was some months ago at An club. They made quite an impression on me so I decided to check out their stuff.  For the record let’s just state that Omega Monolith is two piece, instrumental band, formed in Athens, Greece back in 2012.

‘’Vile’’ ep came out last December. That was the album that introduced me to the band’s music. Charmed by its dark and experimental nature I decided I wanted to listen to more songs from this band. ‘’Fungus’’ is the band’s debut Lp. It was released on May 14. First of all what caught my attention here is the album’s artwork. I think it is more than great. In my opinion it gives you a first taste on what’s going on inside this album. I would like to consider it a  concept album. Time devours everything. Or does he? Three songs are included in ‘’Fungus’’. The band’s music is a blend of different styles. I mean they have filtered their influences in such a way that they have achieved to create an identity of their own. The band states that ‘’Fungus’’ is a journey. I must say I agree with them. This may be a bit of a cliché line but it is an album that you have to experience. You must be patient and you have to let it grow on you. This journey is definitely worth taking. For me it’s one track cut to three pieces. Each track tells a story of its own. As for favorite tracks? I believe I’m gonna pick all three of them. You need to experience all three tracks. That’s what I think. Listen to this album and discover your own truth.

So the question is, what do I think about this album? Well, there’s no doubt in my mind that the band delivered. Apart from heavy ‘’Fungus’’ sounds really fresh and inspired. Personally I loved it, I enjoyed it, therefore I wish to recommend it. Here are some links where you can also listen to ‘’Fungus’’:

Leave a Reply

