Babymetal: What’s the story?

1d9990d6d3946eca1a066df64adbbbfc
A friend of mine asked me what do I think about Babymetal. My first reaction was ‘’What on earth is babymetal?’’. I found out they are a band from Japan. A band that combines heavy metal with j pop. Apparently there seems to be a debate about them. Some people argue that they roll hard, while others find them terrible and disgraceful.

It’s not the first time there’s been such controversy. There’s an ongoing discussion about who is true and who’s not. I think even in the seventies people used to talk about these stuff. In my opinion there are two key factors that lead to these kind of debates. Music is clearly a matter of taste and some people tend to take their music quite seriously.

Remember hair metal or glam metal? I think back in the 80’s there were a lot of people who used to wonder if these bands were true or not. And then Nirvana came out. A group that had devoted friends but devoted enemies as well. Till now there are millions of die hard Nirvana fans. There are also people who hate them, who also hold them responsible for heavy metal’s loss of popularity. Before I continue with this article let me just state that I’m not trying to compare Nirvana or any hair metal band with Babymetal.

Back in the 90’s extreme metal had caused some controversy. People thought then that Entombed’s ‘’Wolverine Blues’’ was not death metal enough so they called it death n’ roll. Black metal fans had some hard time with Cradle of Filth. Were they truly black metal? Or were they simply annoying?

One of the most hated genre that ever came out was undoubtedly nu metal. I think most metalheads accepted bands like Korn or Snot but that clearly did not happen with bands like Limb Bizkit. Peronally I like Korn and Slipknot. Yeap, I said it. I liked the first Slipknot album. I also liked Rammstein. O.k not a nu metal band but I used to like them.

Let us get to Babymetal. A band with 3 girls as vocalists. This band mixes j pop with metal. Apparently Rob Zomie digs them. Some people don’t. Personally I don’t like this band. They clearly mean nothing to me. But that doesn’t really mean anything. It is just one man’s opinion. I do not like them but there are many people who do. And perhaps that’s a good thing.

So my suggestion to you is this: There are many bands out there that you simply don’t like. You just need to ignore them. Better focus on bands you like. Don’t waste your time with bands that you dislike. It will clearly save you some time.

Right now I’m listening to the new Kvelertak album and all I can say is it is really good. A review for this album will follow soon enough.

Leave a Reply

